Mysteries of Dawn



releasedate: 2023 March 24

(snippets are mp3 - 256 kbps, with a length between 2 and 3 minutes)


1. So close, but yet so far away 14:10

2. What comes out of the night  10:55

3. Setting off at daybreak  14:43

4. Mysteries of Dawn  19:16

5. Until we meet again (for Anton) 4:10



1. Liberated by dawn after another dark night 16:@0

2. Moments before the sun start it's daily journey  13:48

3. Crack of dawn  16:25

4. What's hidden in the early morning mist  6:57

5. The abandoned roadhouse 10:55

6. The final dawn (for Hans Moret) 5:04

ordering and info at Groove Unlimited

ordering and info at Bandcamp

The music was composed, played and recorded by Gert Emmens from November 2021 till April 2022 in Studio Gert Emmens in Ede, Netherlands.
Mixed May 2022 and mastered November 2022 by Gert Emmens with the exception of Until we meet again (for Anton): composed, played, mixed and mastered late December 2022.
Photo’s: Shutterstock, except the photo’s on the discs (by Gert Emmens)
Artwork: Gert Emmens
Sequencers and modulars custom made by JvR,

Many thanks: Ron Boots, Ruud Heij, Laila Quraishi, Jos van Ras

About the two dedicated tracks:

CD1 track 05 Until we meet again (for Anton)
Anton was the father of my ex-wife, therefore my ex-father-in-law and the grandfather of my son. He passed away on December 18, 2022 after a long period of suffering. Many beautiful memories will remain, and he’s in my heart forever, with love.

CD2 track 06: The final dawn (for Hans Moret)
Hans Moret was the host of a Dutch radio show playing electronic music. Through the years we became more and more friendly and close with eachother. During the last period of his life, Hans suffered from pancreatic cancer. After he told me there was no hope anymore and he would spend his remaining time in a hospice, I composed this track for him in different versions and let him decide which version of it would be on this album. Eighteen days later, on April 12 2022, Hans passed away. The music was played at his funeral.